logo amu logo cnrs

UMR 7286 - Centre de Recherche en Neurobiologie et Neurophysiologie de Marseille

C. Faivre-Sarrailh team

Home > Research > C. Faivre-Sarrailh team

Neuron-glia interactions and neuropathology


In myelinated axons, the action potentials are rapidly generated at nodes Ranvier. The nodal gap contains high densities of voltage-gated sodium Nav1.6 channels. In addition, voltage-gated potassium channels Kv1.1/1.2 are clustered at juxtaparanodes and regulate axonal excitability.

The architecture and function of the nodes of Ranvier depend on several specialized zones of cell contacts between the axon and myelinating glial cells, the nodes, paranodes and juxtaparanodes. We are interested in the molecular characterization of the axo-glial septate-like junctions at paranodes. Our studies provided new insights into the mechanisms regulating surface targeting, and clustering of ion channels and cell adhesion molecules (CAMs).

Alterations of axonal domain organization are associated with demyelinating neuropathies and participate to conduction and excitability defects. We have recently identified nodal and paranodal CAMs, such as Contactin, as primary targets of autoantibodies in peripheral neuropathies, such as the Guillain-Barré syndrome and CIDP. We also determine how these autoantibodies are pathogenic by preventing cell adhesion, mediating disruption of the nodes and conduction loss.

We also focus on Caspr2, a CAM associated with Kv1, which is an autoimmune target in limbic encephalitis. In addition, the gene coding for Caspr2, cntnap2 is associated with neuropsychiatric disorders such as the autism spectrum disorders, schizophrenia or language impairments. We recently reported that Caspr2 is selectively expressed by inhibitory neurons in hippocampal cell culture.

Another topic developed in our lab is the study of neuron-glia interactions in Huntington’s disease, a neuropathology resulting from increased length of a polyglutamine stretch in the Huntingtin protein. We combine Drosophila’s advanced genetic approaches with cellular analyses on primary cultured neurons. Our aim is to understand how glia contributes to energetic defect and abnormal neurotransmission in the disease. We recently showed that manipulation of glucose transporters or mitochondrial shaping genes confers protection against mutant Huntingtin toxicity.

 

 

 

C. Faivre-Sarrailh team

Highlighted Publications

The CRN2M in numbers

  • 20 Researchers
  • 19 Enseignants Chercheurs
  • 39 Technicians and Assistants
  • 3 Post-Docs
  • 5 Docs
  • 4 Master Students

    They trust us

  • logo amu
  • logo cnrs
  • logo inserm
  • logo AP-HM
  • logo Galderma
  • logo Ipsem
  • logo Novartis
  • logo Pfizer
  • logo Fédération pour la Recherche sur le Cerveau
  • logo Fondation pour la Recherche Medical en France
  • logo IBiSA
  • logo Europe programme FEDER
  • logo Agence Nationale de la Recherche

logo amu logo cnrs

UMR 7286 - Centre de Recherche en Neurobiologie et Neurophysiologie de Marseille

Équipe C. Faivre-Sarrailh

Accueil > Recherche > Équipe C. Faivre-Sarrailh

Interactions neurone-glie et neuropathologie


Dans les axones myélinisés, les potentiels d’action sont générés au niveau des nœuds de Ranvier qui sont enrichis en canaux sodiques dépendant du potentiel Nav1.6. Les canaux potassiques Kv1.1/1.2 sont localisés aux juxtaparanoeuds et régulent l’excitabilité axonale.

L’architecture et la fonction des nœuds de Ranvier sont basées sur des zones de contact entre l’axone et les cellules gliales myélinisantes, appelées régions nodales, paranodales et juxtaparanodales. Nous étudions notamment l’organisation moléculaire des jonctions paranodales de type septé. Nous caractérisons les mécanismes d’adressage membranaire et l’agrégation des canaux ioniques et des molécules d’adhérence en complexes dans les domaines axonaux.

Des altérations des nœuds de Ranvier sont associées à des neuropathies démyélinisantes, ce qui induit des perturbations de l’excitabilité et de la conduction. Nous avons récemment identifié des molécules d’adhérence comme étant des cibles primaires des autoanticorps dans des neuropathies périphériques comme le syndrome de Guillain-Barré ou la CIDP. Nous étudions quels sont les mécanismes pathogéniques et comment ces autoanticorps perturbent les contacts axo-gliaux et la conduction.

Un autre sujet récent abordé dans l’équipe concerne la molécule Caspr2, une molécule d’adhérence associée au Kv1 et qui est une cible autoimmune dans les encéphalites limbiques. De plus, des mutations du gène de Caspr2 sont étroitement associées à des désordres du spectre autistique, schizophrénie ou troubles du langage. Nous avons récemment montré que Caspr2 est particulièrement exprimé par les neurones inhibiteurs dans les cultures d’hippocampe.

Une autre thématique de l’équipe concerne les interactions neurone-glie dans la chorée de Huntington, une maladie génétique à polyglutamine. Nous combinons une approche génétique chez la Drosophile avec des études sur des cultures de neurones. Notre but est de comprendre comment la glie contribue à une neurotransmission anormale via des défauts du métabolisme énergétique glycolytique et mitochondrial. Nous avons récemment montré que la manipulation des transporteurs du glucose ou des gènes contrôlant la dynamique mitochondriale offre une protection contre la toxicité de la Huntingtine mutante.

C. Faivre-Sarrailh team

Publications à la Une

Le CRN2M en chiffres

  • 26 Chercheurs
  • 23 Enseignants Chercheurs
  • 42 ITAs et IATOs
  • 3 Post-Docs
  • 10 Docs
  • 2 Étudiants de Master

    Ils nous font confiance

  • logo amu
  • logo cnrs
  • logo inserm
  • logo AP-HM
  • logo Galderma
  • logo Ipsem
  • logo Novartis
  • logo Pfizer
  • logo Fédération pour la Recherche sur le Cerveau
  • logo Fondation pour la Recherche Medical en France
  • logo IBiSA
  • logo Europe programme FEDER
  • logo Agence Nationale de la Recherche